DrHarryLopez

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
32   0   0
I've been using bio-pellets on my system since Aug 2010, with excellent results. Nitrates are undetectable and phosphates 0.01-0.03 steadlily.

I started this thread to read update from other users of bio-pellets, good, bad, or indifferent.

If good, share your experience
If Bad, also share what occurred

Tom, whats going on with your bio-pellets use? You've been quiet....

nyc reefer

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 96.5%
274   10   0
Biopellets

Doc I have a 72ga Bowfront w/15ga sump, I would like to start a reactor with the pellets. Can you recommend which reactor and pump combo to achieve 0 nitrates. Once I start it I guess I can eliminate the phosban reactor right because the biopellets will take care of that too? Any help and advise will be appreciated.

tomtoothdoc

GOLFER WANNABE
Rating - 100%
390   0   0
I've been using bio-pellets on my system since Aug 2010, with excellent results. Nitrates are undetectable and phosphates 0.01-0.03 steadlily.

I started this thread to read update from other users of bio-pellets, good, bad, or indifferent.

If good, share your experience
If Bad, also share what occurred

Tom, whats going on with your bio-pellets use? You've been quiet....

ummm...status quo!!!
after the first 4-6 weeks there weren't any significant changes.

lets back up a bit.....prior to bio pellets implementation, the nitrate was in the neighborhood of 10-20 and phos- 0.05.

i started with about 1000ml of bio-pellets (half the dosage) in a 3.5" x 24" precision marine reactor driven by a mj1200. i started the bio-pellets about a week or so after doclopez.(8/25/10)

after about 3 weeks or so, i started to see the colors of acro's becoming more vibrant. but the monti's started to brown out...the polyps were still out like normal but the bright green polyps became brown.....my theory is that the water became more clear and the monti's weren't happy. no noticeable changes in other corals.