waltercat

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Going against the norm everyone. I just turned off my skimmer and turned on a brand new Eheim Pro II canister filter. I am going to run floss and carbon in it.

I know everyone says it is a nitrate factory. I have 0 nitrates now so I guess I'll see if that becomes the case. Of course I plan to clean the filter every week. That is really the only way this would be effective.

Why did I change? Well I've been running a Remora Pro for about 4-5 years. It did a fine job, about as good as it could do. But I always had some form of algae problem. So a few months ago I started running a tiny fluval in tank filter just to see what it would pull out. I figured I'd stir up the rocks every week or so and run this little guy and let him get out the gunk. I cleaned the floss in it about every 2 weeks and when I did, man was it a mess. It seemed to pull out more gunk than the skimmer and my algae problem has slowly been going away. So I figured I would make it more effective with a canister. Already I love it because I don't hear my skimmer.

Hopefully it will go well.

gimincorp

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
Watch out for power outages. The canister can't be left w/o power for long time as stuff starts to die off rapidly within it. Then when the power resumes all the dead stuff spews back into your tank and kills off everything in it by raising ammonia beyond detectable levels (my test was BLUE, not even dark green!).
For the record: I was running 10 gallon with Fluval 304.
P.S. I do like to have a sponge to filter our some gunk in the back of my 14 g biocube.

waltercat

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Wow I am honestly surprised by the interest and support. I was prepared to read this and see a bunch of people say the the canister was going to be the demise of my system. :)

Good advice gimincorp, I'll keep that in mind.