• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Paul B

Advanced Reefer
Vendor
Rating - 100%
28   0   0
Today I collected some water from the eastern end of Long Island
NY. I have been collecting it for many years and am very surprised that I know of just about no one who uses it.
It's free and much better than any fake water you can mix, it needs no treatment and did I mention it's FREE.
All of your animals come from NSW, none of them come from ASW so whats the problem?
Of course I know that if you are from Arkansas or Arizona it may be a problem, but for the eight million or so people who live on Long Island I really don't see a problem.
The water I collected today was so clean and pure that I diden't actually have to add it to my tank, I just left the bucket near my tank and let the fish smell it
1eek.gif

It is so clear that I mistakenly thought it was Vodka and made a Harvey Wallbanger from it, thats how clear it is.
grlaugh.gif

Have a great weekend
:bagfish: Paul
beerchug.gif

KathyC

Rating - 100%
200   0   0
Atlantis in Riverhead gets their water directly from the ocean and they bring it to the aquarium in a tanker truck, but if I recall correctly, they let it sit for 4 weeks, to kill off the parasites in it, and then it is treated before use.
The info about that is somewhere on line, not sure where, might even be on their website...

As Masterswimmer said, it's also usually done further off shore, due to all the crud in the water from the boaters and the run-off from the Island itself.
I do know it is not reccommended for use in a SW tank if untreated.

Last edited:
Rating - 99.1%
225   2   0
what about corals? doesnt asw have all the essential mixes and correct amounts of elements in it?